happy little three monthiversary.

2016-10-23 04.30.21.jpg

This Saturday marked my third month here in Singapore! So, you know what that means… CUPCAKE TIME ๐Ÿ˜‰ For my third month celebration I selected a strawberry lemonade cupcake. Glen and I were having a movie time, so I got him a cookies and cream one too (one of his favourite flavours of food; he’s pretty easy to please ๐Ÿ˜› ) so that we could celebrate together!!! We munched these while watching Bewitched, which is a fab movie, and totally worthy of a celebration occasion ๐Ÿ˜› I can report that this cupcake is extra delicious due to the fact that there is actual berry in the cake itself! Very yum.

This month has been the hardest so far BY FAR. I’ve been really struggling with anxiety, and it’s made it quite difficult to manage classes, or even just you know, to leave my apartment/do my laundry/talk to humans/sleep and all those other normal sorts of things.ย I chose this cupcake because this month has definitely had a lot of lemony times… but there have been lots of strawberry times too! The more I get to know Singapore, the more I love it, and even though the past few weeks have been pretty hard going, I’m so happy to be here. So I thought a swirl of strawberry lemonade frosting summed that up pretty perfectly.

If this cupcake could talk, I think it would say “Hey! I know you’ve been having some panic times and some anxious times and some sad times, but look what you did this month!! You found a church! You graduated from your beginner’s Lindy Hop class! You made three class presentations! You did four radio shows! You went to see a counsellor twice! You found lots of playgrounds! You visited more MRT stations than I remember the number of! So maybe it’s hard to leave your room, so maybe things are a bit scary sometimes… but you did all that anyway. That’s pretty good going, girl ๐Ÿ˜‰ ”

Cupcakes are friendly things. I ate this happily and reflected on all that and felt thankful for myย Cookies and Cream buddy next to me too ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

2 thoughts on “happy little three monthiversary.

  1. Julie Wilson says:

    Hi Sarah ,
    Thank you for your honest update. You are so right you’ve done so much with your time there – someone else would have been more than stretched just going to classes… you really are a superwoman. Sounds like you need to give yourself permission for some more cupcake breaks. Thinking of you.

    Like

Leave a comment