latest adventures in nature / art / my brain.

2016-11-15-22-07-39CLASSES ARE OVERRRR! I am now on study break, which is quite nice for me, since my exams are quite spread out and also late in the exam period, so I’ve been able to take a few days to rest and recuperate a little πŸ™‚ Actually everyone here is studying very madly – they had to open up more 24 hour study spaces because all of the existing ones were not enough! But! Rest is important too! Or so I am trying to keep in mind anyway πŸ˜‰ So, with that said, here are some relaxing activities I got up to in the past week πŸ™‚

adventures in nature.

Last week my friend Pam invited me on a walk around campus with her Varsity Christian Fellowship group. I thought this meant literally walking around the campus buildings but turns out, unbeknownst to me, there has been a NATIONAL PARK LIKE 10 MINS WALK AWAY THIS ENTIRE TIME πŸ˜› So crazy, I’ve never even heard it mentioned before!! It’s called Kent Ridge Park, and it’s pretty big! So I found this quite exciting πŸ™‚ There were lots of cool plants and I saw a turtle and also bats!

2016-11-09 23.14.34.jpg

Pam being cute hehe! πŸ™‚ Also such cool yellow stairs!

2016-11-10 00.07.02.jpg

There was a really pretty view of the harbour when we got to the top of the hill!

 

adventures in art.

I’ve been having fun with watercolours lately, which I’ve been finding surprisingly relaxing. I needed to make a lot of birthday cards in a row, so I kind of made a series! I think I’m developing a niche in watercolour ice cream cards with cartoon faces πŸ˜›

And then on Saturday, I went to an aaamaaaazing art class at Overjoyed, this adorable art shop that I’m a little bit in love with. It was a sketch journaling workshop taught by Tham Pui San, who is such a wonderful and inspirational teacher, and I had such a fun three hours and left the class super hyped and I think I might now be addicted to sketch journaling. Normally my perfectionism gets a little in the way of me fully enjoying art, but I think because sketch journaling is so quick and fluid, and so deliberately imperfect, I can fully relax into it, which is really nice πŸ™‚ I love the idea of doing art anywhere and on the go! It’s perfect for travelling and exploring I think πŸ™‚ Here’s what I’ve sketched so far!

 

adventures in my brain.

Okay so this is not so much a “relaxing activity”, but it is about taking care of my wellbeing which kinda falls under the same big umbrella πŸ˜› I went to see a psychologist this week about my anxiety – and came out with a diagnosis of panic disorder and mild/moderate depression. Β This didn’t come at all as a surprise to me, and I found it affirming in a funny sort of way to know that what I’m going through according to a clinical diagnosis is the same as what I thought I was going through, if that makes any sense!

My first step for this coming week is working on getting a few more happy chemicals going around my brain. To achieve this, the psychologist wants me to workout every day, try to do some social activities, and make some time for things I like to do πŸ™‚ So I have decided to take up a whole lot of Zumba πŸ™‚ After doing some research last night I have found a combination of free Zumba classes, Aqua Zumba classes and Zumba Step classes around the island that mean that I can literally go to a Zumba class any day of the week hahaha! And not only normal Zumba classes but also Zumba IN A POOL and Zumba USING A COOL STEP THING πŸ˜›

Also, Glen and I have just joined a Christmas caroling choir through his church, which was Glen’s idea, and it was a very lovely one πŸ™‚ We have two rehearsals a week, and both of the rehearsals that we’ve been to so far were these little bright spots in my past few days πŸ™‚ Because sitting around singing Christmas songs with a really nice group of people = ULTIMATE HAPPY ACTIVITY πŸ˜›

The past couple of weeks have not been easy, to say the very least (!!!). But I’m feeling very grateful for the support of the people around me, and I’m working on getting better πŸ™‚ I really wanted to write about this because depression and anxiety are things that so many people face, but that we don’t do a very good job about talking about as a society. And I think it’s important that people know that it’s okay to not be okay, and that you’re most definitely, definitely not alone ❀ So here’s to openness and honesty in our mental health conversations πŸ˜‰

I will for sure be letting you know how the art and the Zumba go in the coming week! πŸ˜› Much love to you all ❀

 

 

 

One thought on “latest adventures in nature / art / my brain.

Leave a Reply

